Painting exhibition, craft fair and Belper Quilting

It’s June already and tomorrow is the day of the craft stall at Peak Village near Chatsworth Estate.  Previously we mostly bought each others makes so hoping for more success this time if only to be able to buy more supplies to make things for the next craft fair.

I’m looking forward to seeing what the others come up with, Gill has a great sense of colour and makes really gorgeous understated items.  Sioux’s very experienced and her work is perfection.  Caroline is prolific and I’m amazed at what great ideas she has for projects.

I’ve made chicken pictures, book thongs, luggage tags and the usual bags and purses, baby quilt and embroidered birds.

 

Last Friday my painting group exhibited our work as part of a larger U3A exhibition of how creative we all are!

No pictures but imagine a room full of wonderful watercolour and pastel pictures.  We attracted people in by hanging fun bunting sized paintings on string along the corridor.  Wonderful I wish I’d taken pictures.  Instead I’ll share a few of my watercolours from the last few months. The vulture painting was to accompany a poem (named culture vulture) made into a bookmark to promote the WEA (Workers Education Association) in Derby.

 

So Chrissie and I have started Belper Quilting Group.   Up to 22 people turn up each time and we’ve stopped offering cake and coffee and they still come back so I guess it’s a success.   We’ve started making sampler quilts which most people join in or some do their own projects.  We’ve also made confetti quilts and I taught landscape quilting last time.  In the summer we’re learning Sashiko work and one member worked in textiles in his former life and is going to share his knowledge on dyeing followed by a practical session.

The family have been busy.  Eldest son Peter completed a middle distance triathlon last weekend and came 12th, the first I’ve watched.  Phew can those youngsters (and not so young) push themselves hard.  I did my best to encourage them from the side-lines.

20170604_114641

Younger son and my daughter in law are doing a great job bringing up Thomas while leading busy lives.  He’s such a character and I find it a real joy helping out one day a week.  Here he is with his dad resting during a bike ride and with his granddad at Trent Lock.

 

Roll on July we’re off to France for a holiday with the family.

 

6 thoughts on “Painting exhibition, craft fair and Belper Quilting

  1. Love all the stuff you made for the craft fair and your watercolors are stunning! I wish I lived over there so I could join your quilting group. Sounds like you’re having fun and learning some interesting techniques. Your family looks like fun, too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

